Not true 100% zoom?

Get help with installing and running FastPictureViewer: ask questions here. Please do not post presumed bug reports or suggestions here.

Not true 100% zoom?

Postby lecatpuke on Mon Jul 26, 2010 9:52 pm

I've noticed this phenomenon for a long time now, and it's really starting to become an issue with some of my macro shots. When I left-click to zoom an image to 100%, it doesn't actually zoom to the full image resolution. See the attached comparison between FPV (top) at 100% and Photoshop (bottom) at 100%.
compare.jpg
compare.jpg (73.98 KiB) Viewed 4515 times

Can someone explain this to me?
lecatpuke
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 9:40 pm

Re: Not true 100% zoom?

Postby Axel on Tue Jul 27, 2010 5:00 pm

Your camera does not store a full-resolution JPEG preview within its raw files.
Axel
Site Admin
 
Posts: 794
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 1:54 am
Location: Geneva, Switzerland

Re: Not true 100% zoom?

Postby lecatpuke on Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:28 pm

Axel, thanks for the reply. Unfortunately I experience this problem with JPEGs straight from the camera. I haven't thought to experiment with JPEGs from different sources. FPV tells me the image resolution is 3888px wide, however at 100%, there is very little image stretching beyond my 1680x1050 resolution monitor.
lecatpuke
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 9:40 pm

Re: Not true 100% zoom?

Postby Axel on Tue Jul 27, 2010 8:15 pm

Another possibility is the automatic downscaling that may occur, depending on what maximum texture size is supported by your particular video card in GPU accelerated mode.
Axel
Site Admin
 
Posts: 794
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 1:54 am
Location: Geneva, Switzerland

Re: Not true 100% zoom?

Postby lecatpuke on Tue Jul 27, 2010 9:16 pm

Automatic downscaling led me to the answer...

For Smart Image Resizing, I had changed the "Maximum memory usage per image" down to 12MB from 112MB. Originally I did this because at times I could feel the effect of scrolling through large folders of images and the hit it had on my available RAM. I assumed that FPV didn't need much more than the actual image size for memory allocation... apparently I was wrong!

Set it back to 112MB and the image resized perfectly. Thanks!
lecatpuke
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 9:40 pm

Re: Not true 100% zoom?

Postby Axel on Tue Jul 27, 2010 10:28 pm

User-induced downscaling through the program's options was possibility #3 8-)

Glad to know you sorted it out!
Axel
Site Admin
 
Posts: 794
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 1:54 am
Location: Geneva, Switzerland


Return to User-to-User



cron