Using File Utilities to select 'above a specific size'

Get help with installing and running FastPictureViewer: ask questions here. Please do not post presumed bug reports or suggestions here.

Using File Utilities to select 'above a specific size'

Postby HarryJtan on Sat Feb 05, 2011 7:11 pm

I'm brand new with this software so beware of lame questions.

Looking at the short tutorial on using the File utilites dialog, I'm trying to see a way to select files that are above a specific size. I may be missing something that will do that in the list... The dialog is scrunched into such a small space that the list only appears 3 lines at a time and scrolling happens so quickly... I can't really tell if I'm seeing them all.

Maybe if I describe what I want to do, someone will know how it is to be done.

I want to find any images above 120px x 120px in a directory where I accidentally dumped some images above that size.

There are hundreds of images at the correct size and maybe something like 100 or a few more of an incorrect size.
In the Files Util dialog I see an item to find images of a specific size, but not something more versatile that can search for sizes above or below a certain size.

Apparently is is not possible in FPV to see lots of images at once... or a thumbnails view. At least I haven't seen how to view anything but one image at a time.

So how can I tell FPV to find and process all images above 120x120 so that they are reduced to 120 x 120.
If the processing is not possible then at least how to quickly find the oversize images.
HarryJtan

Re: Using File Utilities to select 'above a specific size'

Postby Axel on Sun Feb 06, 2011 12:38 am

A picture is worth a thousand words...