Press / Media Room

Learn about FastPictureViewer, download logos, screenshots and icons.

Welcome to FastPictureViewer's Press Room.

FastPictureViewer is an award-winning image viewer for the Windows platform, specifically Windows Vista and Windows XP. It was designed and developed in Geneva, Switzerland by Axel Rietschin, building upon 15+ years of experience in industrial imaging software engineering. FastPictureViewer is one of the first 3rd party HD Photo / JPEG XR image viewer, ready for the next generation digital cameras with native JPEG XR support.

Please check the FAQ, it's a gold mine of information about the product and it's features!

News:

  • Deutsche Telekom AG purchases several hundred FastPictureViewer Professional licenses (Sep 2012)
  • University of Copenhagen (Medical School) adopts FastPictureViewer Professional as teaching aid for anatomy courses (Sep 2011)
  • Sony Online Entertainment adopts the FastPictureViewer Codec Pack. (Oct 2010)
  • The SIMS (EA) from Redwood City, CA, USA, adopts the FastPictureViewer Codec Pack. (Oct 2010)
  • Blizzard Entertainment from Irvine, CA, USA, adopts the FastPictureViewer Codec Pack. (Oct 2010)
  • Hidden Path Entertainment, Inc., of Bellevue, WA, USA, adopts the FastPictureViewer Codec Pack. (Sep 2010)
  • Avid Technology, Inc, from Burbank, CA, USA, adopts the FastPictureViewer Codec Pack. (Aug 2010)
  • Orbit Studios, from Copenhagen, Denmark, adopts the FastPictureViewer Codec Pack. (Aug 2010)
  • Electronic Arts, the largest computer game producer in the world, from Redwood City, CA, USA, adopts the FastPictureViewer Codec Pack for all their graphic workstations. (Aug 2010)
  • FastPictureViewer Codec Pack Adds RAW Support to Windows (LifeHacker.com, Oct 2009)
  • How to add Mac-like RAW image support to Windows 8.x Desktop, Windows 7, Windows Vista, XP (DownloadSquad.com, Oct 2009)
  • FastPictureViewer made it to the news section of Imaging-Resources.com (Oct 2009)
  • c't Magazin, a major German computer magazine, picked FastPictureViewer for it's cover DVD (Sept 1, 2008) and described the product as "The Porsche of image viewers" (c't Magazin 19/2008, page 162). Circulation: 380'000 copies.
  • CHIP, a major German computer magazine, picked FastPictureViewer for it's cover DVD for the Nov 2008 edition. Circulation: 406'000 copies.
  • FastPictureViewer is slated to appear on the cover DVD of the Polish magazine DIGITAL FOTO VIDEO.
  • FastPictureViewer was selected by Japanese magazine iP! for inclusion on cover DVDs.

Print press coverage:

2008-09-01 - c't Magazin 19/2008, Sept 1, 2008, page 162 + cover DVD. Circulation: 380'000
2008-10-01 - DIGITAL FOTO VIDEO, Poland (upcoming issue + cover DVD)
2008-11-01 - CHIP Magazine (upcoming: November 2008 issue + cover DVD). Circulation: 406'000
 

Reviews:

Minimalist photo viewer to quickly browse image folders:

"FastPictureViewer is a fast, straightforward photo viewer that lets
you scan the contents of a whole photo folder in a very easy way"

 

User quotes (from email exchanges):

Below are a few unedited quotes from email conversations with users. Overall, user feedback has been overwhelmingly positive.

Well first of all congratulations on making the fastest image viewer I've tried so far and thank you for sharing it the rest of us for free. It just goes to show that the best things in life are free.

I tried your software last night and was duly impressed by it.

Finished my big deleting session and I'm hooked on your viewer. Best £20 I've spent for ages.

"I am writing to you regarding the recently released FastPictureViewer Home Basic v1.00. A marvelous idea! Extremely fast, clean, minimalistic interface, the small size alone is an achievement in itself, just what we need in the world of ever increasing software complexity!"

"I just tried it and YES it's fast. VERY fast. [...]"

"Thank you for your overwhelming proof of commitment to customer support, this is just great!"

"It is a some time since a software application has delighted me as much as FastPictureViewer! [...] Your approach is spot on. Thank you so very much."

"The idea of this software is great, and I'm always in favor of simple to use programs. I applaud what you're trying to do."

"I don't know how you do it. The monitor image on your software looks 10 times better than in Photoshop. I am using a 22' inch high end Samsung at the highest setting. Your screen images are amaziing."

"I just want to say your picture viewer is a GREAT software. I googled it several months ago, because I looked for a small picture viewer with EXIF orientation support. Now FastPictureViewer supports it, and I am Very happy with it. Thank you !"

"I just want to tell you that I tried your FastPictureViewer Home Basic and all I have to say is ‘wow, this is really promising!’ I’m excited about the development of this as it is exactly what the market needs."

"Thank you very much. I am very glad that I decided to purchase your software. Look forward to your updates."

"I just want to give you feedback on your program. So much is great about it: the concept (lean & mean), rendering speed, left/right mouse button zoom, ratings & keepers selection, quick help, configuration options, design"

"Thanks for a great piece of software! With my monitor (HP w2408h) Vista makes a mess of colors and noise of my pics but your program solves this."

"I am using Fast Picture Viewer V 1.0 Build 15. I like the program VERY much. It does just what it says, and it does so VERY quickly."

FastPictureViewer was driven by user feedback since it was first released on January 15, 2008. Many features have been added since then, most of which are the direct consequence of feedback received from actual users and the email discussions that followed.

 

Awards:

Some of the awards earned by FastPictureViewer:

brothersoft.com softpedia.com downloadpipe.com
 

Logos, screenshots:

Download artwork and screenshot below (all image files are also available as zipped collection):

FastPictureViewer Icon Set FastPictureViewer Icon Set FastPictureViewer Icon Set

Downloads logo set in JPEG and PNG formats: FastPictureViewer-Icons-16-256-JPG-PNG.zip (350KB)


Histogram

EXIF Display

Quick Navigation Slider

Menubar Popup

Options Dialog 1

Options Dialog 2

Options Dialog 3

Options Dialog 4

Options Dialog 6

Quick Help

Histogram (Luminance)


Histogram (Luminance 2)


Windows 7 Jump List




Jumbo thumbnail

Thumbnail strip



TIFF Screenshots, 10cm wide in print (right-click thumbnails, and save target as... about 2MB each):

TIFF Screenshot 1 TIFF Screenshot 2

Downloads screenshot set in JPEG and PNG formats: FastPictureViewer-Screenshots-JPG-PNG.zip (~10MB)
 

Link to FastPictureViewer's download page:

Get FastPictureViewer now!

Copy and paste the following HTML code:

<a href="http://www.fastpictureviewer.com/downloads/" target="_blank">
<img src="http://cdn.fastpictureviewer.com/public/web/img/Get_FPV_Button.gif"
alt="Get FastPictureViewer now!" style="border:0px" width="95" height="28" /></a>

FastPictureViewer.com Alexa Website Rank:

Below are some indicative stats form well known web analytics companies. Actual measured figures at the web server log level are substantially higher as most modern browsers block links to web analytics sites.





Act Now.
Download FastPictureViewer Professional (free, no questions asked trial) and see for yourself how raw image viewing can become fast and enjoyable.
Try before you buy: it's free